Enhancing partnership among Africa RISING, NAFAKA and TUBORESHE CHAKULA (TUBOCHA) Programs for fast-tracking delivery and scaling of agricultural technologies in Tanzania


Introduction
Selected business case technologies.jpg
Funded by the USAID Mission in Tanzania, this interdisciplinary and inter-institutional project aims to address small holder farmer’s needs in the semi-arid and sub-humid zones of Tanzania. Through the project, candidate technologies are being identified and evaluated through participatory, on-farm approaches by Africa RISING for scaling (see box 1).

Scaling will be achieved through the already established networks by NAFAKA, TUBOCHA and other institutional grassroots organizations, creating an opportunity for mainstreaming into wider rural development programs, beyond Africa RISING’s current zones of influence.

The project targets small holder farming communities as end-users. It also aims to reach development institutions working with farming communities to not only improve their system productivity and resilience, but also to reach regional district level where prioritization decisions that transcend scales are made. Specific objectives of the project are:
  • To benefit a targeted 47,000 households, diversifying and increasing their food supply and income sources, and improving quality of degrading smallholder cropland,
  • To expand the area under improved rice production technologies (increased to 58,000 ha) by 2017, and
  • To increase both maize and rice yields per unit area by 50% by 2017.

Some of the technologies above form variants of integrated management packages. These improved packages together with the resultant increased yields will be conveyed to local partner input stockists, processors and marketing networks, allowing farmers to better access needed inputs and new crop varieties, add value to their products and sell at better prices thereby ensuring sustainable technology adoption.

Click here for the project proposal.

agro-ecological zones of Tanzania2.jpg
Map of the derived agro-ecological zones of Tanzania showing the location of the project action regions

Geographical focus
The developmental activities addressing the project objectives will be conducted in the primary regions of Manyara, Dodoma and Morogoro, with planned extension to Iringa and Mbeya, all in the Feed the Future’s Zone of Influence (ZOI). The main agro-ecology of the study regions is savannah, grading from semi-arid through to the derived zoning. This will contribute to construction of “recommendation domains” against which agricultural technologies will be targeted.

Project activities
  • Establishing baseline conditions - generate and map agro-ecological and market characteristics of the ZOI to inform scaling and adoption operations.
  • Introducing and promoting better crops - introduce and promote improved varieties of food crops to farm households in a manner that complements their on-going farm enterprises, contributes to sustainable agricultural resource management and offers nutritional and marketing advantages.
  • Seed delivery - promoting new and improved seed as well as delivery.
  • Scaling better crop management technologies - Disseminate best-bet agronomic management packages around the most promising new crop varieties suited to widely representative agro-ecological zones.
  • Conserving natural resources - protect land and water resources and foster agricultural biodiversity through the introduction of soil and water management practices.
  • Improving household nutrition - Increase food security and improve household nutrition among the most vulnerable households and their members, especially women and children by introducing vegetables.
  • Reducing food waste and spoilage - introduce and promote post-harvest management technologies for maize, rice, legumes and selected vegetable crops to reduce losses and bring quality up to market standards

Major outputs and outcomes
  • Improved access by over 40,000 smallholder maize farmers to new crop varieties that are proven to be disease resistant, pest tolerant and drought tolerant as well as contributing to better nutrition and increased income.
  • Over 100,000 ha of better managed land through accelerated adoption of recent technology breakthroughs that promote sustainable management and protect land and water resources.
  • Farmer and outreach institutions will become strengthened, offering a wider range of services to members. These services include local extension advice based upon informed diagnosis of production and nutritional constraints.

Project partners
  • Tanzania Staples Value Chain (NAFAKA)
  • TUBORESHE CHAKULA (TUBOCHA)
  • International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA)
  • Babati District Council
  • Kongwa District Council
  • Kilombero District Council
  • AfricaRice
  • Agricultural Research Institute, Tanzania (KATRIN)
  • World Vegetable Center (AVRDC)
  • Tengeru Horticultural Research and Training Institute (HORTI)
  • International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT)
  • World Agroforestry Centre (ICRAF)
  • Hombolo Agricultural Research Institute (ARI HOMBOLO)
  • International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT)
  • International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT)

Duration: October 2014 to September 2017

Key contacts
  • Irmgard Hoeschle-Zeledon, Africa RISING Coordinator West, East and Southern Africa, IITA - I.Hoeschle-Zeledon(at)cgiar.org
  • Mateete Bekunda, Chief Scientist, Africa RISING East and Southern Africa, IITA - M.Bekunda(at)cgiar.org
  • Haroon Sseguya, Technology Scaling, Africa RISING East and Southern Africa, IITA - H.Sseguya(at)cgiar.org
  • Rebecca Savoie, Chief of Party, TUBORESHE CHAKULA - Rebecca_Savoie(at)tubocha.com
  • David Benafel, Chief of Party, NAFAKA - dbenafel(at)nafaka-tz.org
  • Jonne Rodenburg, Rice Agronomist for East and Southern Africa, AfricaRice - j.rodenburg(at)cgiar.org
  • Thomas Dubois, Regional Director, AVRDC East and Southern Africa - thomas.dubois(at)worldveg.org
  • Fredrick Baijukya, N2Africa National Co-ordinator, IITA - F.Baijukya(at)cgiar.org
  • Hassan Mndiga, Outreach Coordinator, AVRDC East and Southern Africa - hassan.mndiga(at)worldveg.org
  • Silvanis Mruma, Agronomist, NAFAKA - smruma(at)nafaka-tz.org
  • Jetrida Kyekaka, DAICO, Babati District Council - kyekakajetrida(at)yahoo.com
  • Jumbo Bright, Maize Breeder, CIMMYT - b.jumbo(at)cgiar.org
  • Adebayo Abass, Scientist, IITA - a.abass(at)cgiar.org
  • Fred Kizito, Senior Scientist, CIAT - f.kizito(at)cgiar.org
  • Job Kihara, Scientist, CIAT - j.kihara(at)cgiar.org
  • Joshua Shadluck, M&E Specialist, NAFAKA - sjoshua(at)nafaka-tz.org
  • Valency Basso, Agricultural Officer, Kongwa District Council - six.valency(at)yahoo.com
  • Philipo Joseph Lukumay, Research Assistant, AVRDC - philipo.joseph(at)worldveg.org
  • Veronica Uzokwe, Agronomist, IITA - v.uzokwe(at)cgiar.org
  • Shiferaw Feleke, Agricultural Economist, IITA - s.feleke(at)cgiar.org
  • Gabriel Ndunguru, Consultant, IITA - gtndunguru(at)hotmail.com
  • Pili Mwambeso, DAICO, Kilombero District Council - pilimwambeso(at)yahoo.com
  • Ikunda Terry, Team Leader, MWIWATA/NAFAKA - iterry(at)nafaka-tz.org
  • Mathew Mpanda, Scientist, ICRAF - m.mpanda(at)cgiar.org
  • Ezekiel Mtoka, Extension Manager, FIPS-NAFAKA - ezekontoka(at)gmail.com
  • Sophia kashenge, National Rice Lead Scientist, ARI DAKAWA - sophykashenge(at)yahoo.com

Project Management Team Meetings

Project Partner Meetings
2016

2015
2014

Annual Reports

Quarterly Project Progress Reports

Project Indicators (Feed the Future Indicators)

Photos

Presentations